15/2/2017 – Unblocking the Colour

oriental-poppies
Georgia O’Keeffe: Oriental Poppies, 1927. Source: georgiaokeeffe.net

It’s finally getting warm and sunny here! Birds are singing and you can feel the sunshine warming your skin. Everybody’s happy about it and I’m no exception. In the last two weeks I felt how the gloominess of dark days that are indistinguishable from each other weights my mind and my mood down. Perhaps we got spoiled by several years before that were exceptionally warm because when I was little, winter lasted much longer and there was so much snow we kept sledging almost whole season. This winter should be actually considered as one of those warmer and shorter, too, although it felt quite depressing lately.

Also it’s the last week before the semester starts. Besides work I have a plenty of time to relax and do whatever pleases my mind. Such a luxury! I’m digging into my hobbies to enjoy them before all that hustle and bustle comes back.

Seeing:

An excellent exhibition of Georgia O’Keeffe’s works in Kunstforum Wien. She’s one of my most favourite artists of all time – her paintings of landscapes and natural objects have so much life in them that every time I see them, it takes my breath away. They are moving without motion and keep moving long after you leave the gallery rooms. I almost fell off my chair when I found out her work is exhibited in Vienna – good thing that it’s so near! We definitely weren’t disappointed.

okeefe-painting2-650
Georgia O’Keeffe: Ram’s Head, White Hollyhock and Little Hills, 1935. The Brooklyn Museum. Source: wikipedia.org

Reading:

Catching up with my reading lists right at the moment. There are always so many books and so little time to read them!

Just finished Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman, my favourite author. He’s the master of storytelling and never stops to amaze me with the genius of his imagination. I had to think about how limited and rigid the world in my head was lately because until I got used again to the fantastic twist of his stories, I caught myself wondering how this is possible and how strange it feels (!!!!!). Definitely a reminder to pick up more of fantastic genre and to remember – like an old Chinese proverb says – that in our minds we can be always free. It only depends on how much borders we set to ourselves.

Others on the shelf: Ways of Seeing by John Berger, a brilliant collection of art-related essays that weren’t translated in Czech until now (!!!); Fables: Legends in Exile, a comics that I’ve read back in my high school years and forgot how amazing it is.

Wanna hang out on Goodreads? The more, the merrier – at least when it comes to literature!

Listening to:

Soundtrack to Vicky Cristina Barcelona, with all those genius guitar pieces by Paco de Lucía and other Spanish musicians who make me dream of summer. A perfect companion to everyday duties: running errands, commuting, cooking, cleaning…

Wearing:

It’s warm enough to put aside my winter boots and parka and replace them with much lighter and elegant chelsea boots and a military spring/autumn coat in moss colour. The sunny days and a new flatmate who has a great style inspired by her Russian heritage got me thinking about colours in my wardrobe. It’s pretty basic – neutral shades like white (majority of tops), black (mainly bottoms), nude, cognac brown, more pink than I thought, burgundy and hints of dark blue and grey. Not that I’d intend to turn it upside down but a little splash of colour here and there would please my eyes.

cf3f2b930c6d255e351137e39ce46302
It could be like this…

Back in my teenage years, I loved colour, bright or muted, and wore it more frequently as it also expressed my wannabe artistic aims; now I’m a different person of course but the most basic of basic garments don’t work for me as far as I know. I like to incorporate some interesting details (well, we could discuss what does “interesting” mean for everybody… I’m sure that my take on “interesting” may look more like “boring, yawn” for some of you). Also, in relation with Archana’s article on dressing like your tribe, and the fact that as a child of immigrants I still keep exploring my identity, to introduce some more colours and patterns to my wardrobe feels like a nice tribute to my ancestral roots. I’m gonna give the idea some more time to ripe.

c453cb42ae1f1face7f09844176aadcd
But art-inspired socks would surely do the thing, too. (If anybody knows where to find them, please tell!)

And the last note: I spent the Valentine’s Day alone at home as my man went to Israel for few days and gosh, have I forgot how great it feels to read a good book cozied up in bed with chocolate all night!

What are you up to lately? Seen/done/heard/read something interesting?

2 thoughts on “15/2/2017 – Unblocking the Colour

  1. I know nothing about art but I know what you mean about the movement in Georgia OKeefe. I like the Jack in Pulpit series and in general I like her colors. Sorry I’m not sophisticated in my descriptions!

    And thank you for the suggestion about looking up the art critic, I feel the things he wrote about women/appearance feels even more relevant now with social media and to me on a personal level as well.

    Like

    1. There is no need to know a lot about art or to be able to talk about it sophisticatedly to enjoy it. You described it well. Jack in the pulpit is great! It seems to me she always looked for things that have flowy, elegant curves. And bold colors are one of her signature elements.

      I’m glad the book suggestion inspired you; it’s actually a good idea to look up if he said anything about the social medias as he had experienced their birth and spread before he passed away early this year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

