Simplify to Overthink

Those of you who decided to transform your wardrobe, what was the original aim behind that? Was it because you were fed up with having nothing to wear? Did you become fascinated with minimalist living? Did you want to focus more on quality? Anything else?

My main goal was to create such a wardrobe that I would never think too much in the morning what to wear again. It would consist of such clothes that would express who I am (a grown-up who cares about her appearance) and would fit my daily needs (work, studies, friends, a lot of walking in the city, etc.), while being the best choice I could afford on the market regarding quality. I didn’t strive for as little things as possible but because I move often, I didn’t want a huge wardrobe either. So there was an idea of having as little as my needs allow me to. I believed that the energy and time I would put today in making the perfect wardrobe would pay off later when I will no longer spend more than 3 minutes thinking about what to wear.

3c65b6a98a556933c971af8972bb6d30

Well…

I don’t spend any less time thinking about clothes (in terms of what to wear), even when my wardrobe would suffice now to live through every season comfortably and consists of very nice, quality pieces. Right the opposite – I’m thinking about them more. It became a kind of a hobby. Of course, writing this blog and reading about how is everybody doing is a pleasure but a one that doesn’t require so much time. What bothers me the most is investing way too much time into planning what to wear the next day to look like this or that, browsing Pinterest endlessly, thinking of what to buy next, examining my closet every day, etc. 

Does it relate with my pursuit of “the perfect wardrobe”and “perfect look” that is unreal in its basics because perfection doesn’t exist?

Is it because I value people’s opinion on what I’m wearing more than I admit?

Or is it because I’m generally an overthinker of everything?

Did you also find yourself far away from your original goal when reinventing wardrobe? Did you return back to when you started or tried to go for another way?

8 thoughts on “Simplify to Overthink

  1. I overhauled my wardrobe when I was a broke first time college student a million years ago. I had this post high school wardrobe that made absolutely no sense leaving me with a closet full of nothing to wear. Like you my goal was to look neat and put together on a daily basis. I had to get rid of a lot and start from scratch.

    As I got older, I deliberately stuck to capsule concept for work: Minimal color palette of mainly BLACK, white/cream, greys, navy/blues, colors that easily mix and matched. And I grouped all my work clothes together so I wasn’t searching through my whole closet for things to wear. To get dressed for work took me less than a minute.

    Over time your tastes/needs/wants/lifestyle/body/environment/etc… will change. I don’t reinvent my wardrobe every time this happens, but I make edits. My goal is to shop for/maintain a wardrobe suitable to my real life. My style is a lot less experimental and more feminine than it was 10 years ago.

    Like

    1. Thank you for useful tips. I don’t know why I haven’t thought of it before, to separate a “work wardrobe” – it seems like a great idea that will save me some time in the morning. I’m still confused by if there is actually any dress code in our office – the category “business casual” as I identified it there is a fuzzy one and everybody seems to have a personal interpretation of it. Perhaps I should too.
      And yes, it’s important to bear in mind that we never stop evolving and so does our needs and our style.

      Like

  2. I do think a lot too. Lucky for us, its being packaged as ‘mindful consumption’ 🙂

    My take : put in a lot of thought when buying. But the right stuff. (There might be a learning curve as with anything new). Wear with non chalance. Wear it over and over till it all becomes effortless.

    I think its important to get the first step right for the rest to follow. The wrong basics and we are stuck in the buy loop.

    Like

    1. Haha, very good point! We’re the masters of mindfulness in style – it sounds much better than overthinkers 🙂
      Thanks for sharing. I think that my biggest problems is that urge to seek an absolute perfection without realising that nothing like that exists; rather things that are right in particular moments.

      Like

  3. I decided to make a change after having two kids back to back and leaving the workforce to look after them. I worked in the financial industry before children and always had a wardrobe fairly covered. I guess I had to get dressed for work each day in a professional conservative setting! Staying home with little kids can really get you in a slump on the fashion side of things. It’s so easy to walk around in jeans and t-shirts for years without thinking about it! With no need for “work clothes”, the closet situation became dreadful. I felt like I was starting over completely when I started taking an interest in clothes again. I was older than before of course and my tastes had changed by the time I hit 40. It took me a couple of years and lots of obsessing to figure out my style. As you mentioned, it became a bit of a hobby to find that perfect minimal wardrobe that fit my lifestyle. But of course, there is no perfect wardrobe. It is always evolving. I am not aiming for perfectionism any more, but am trying to limit purchase errors by really thinking through purchases and putting more thought and care into planning my needs/wants. Thanks for your posts and inspiration. Glad I found you.

    Like

    1. Jen, thank you for stopping by and sharing your experience! I don’t have kids yet but can imagine how hard it is to invest your time and energy in clothing when the kids and their needs are at least for the first few years at the top of every mother’s list of priorities. Was it exciting to start over with your wardrobe?
      Yes, we are always evolving and so is our clothing. Perhaps it is more helpful to think about the perfect wardrobe for that specific age or phase in your life rather than the absolute perfect one that is impossible to reach.

      Like

  4. This happened to me too – especially, in the beginning when I started to really ‘evaluate’ the purchases, personal style and wishlist. But, I am happy to report that it has died down. I think you will get there too.

    Currently, I am not even searching or perfecting the wardrobe as much as before. But, once in a while the “beast” raises its head. I start looking at everything in my closet, updating a wishlist, looking at websites etc. At those times, I just remind myself that before I achieve the perfect closet, my lifestyle, body shape (weight), interests and current trends may all change. This simple fact makes me stop obsessing about style so much. 🙂

    Like

    1. I think the beast shows up from time to time in everybodys life and it may be a sign that you might have changed somehow, therefore feeling the need to adjust your wardrobe accordingly. Its a natural process I think. The key is not to let the beast dominate over your entire life which is what Im learning at the moment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

